ShipBob bundles picking, packing, shipping, and packaging into one flat fee, but bills receiving, storage, and add-ons like kitting or custom packaging separately. This guide compares four ShipBob alternatives: Simpl Fulfillment, ShipMonk, ShipHero, and Red Stag. We look at how each one prices orders, whether it holds you to a minimum, how it handles returns, and where it fits best.
How the alternatives compare Here's the short version. The table below lines up the four alternatives against ShipBob on the things that usually drive a switch: how pricing is structured, whether there's a minimum, what you're committing to, and how returns get handled. Competitor details reflect each provider's own published pricing and service pages as of July 2026; confirm current terms directly before you sign.
Provider
Pricing
Order minimums
Contract terms
Returns handling
Simpl Fulfillment
Starting at $7/order, flat-rate (picking, postage, packaging included)
Works with brands from 50 to 5,000+ orders/month; $750/mo account minimum (pay-the-difference)
Not publicly stated
Branded returns portal, included for every client
ShipBob
Bundled pick/pack/ship fee; receiving, storage, and add-ons billed separately
Minimum monthly spend and order-volume requirements apply (per ShipBob's published pricing)
Not publicly stated
Returns available
ShipMonk
Per-pick plus storage tiers
Monthly minimum tied to projected order volume
Not publicly stated
Returns available
ShipHero
WMS software; fulfillment runs through LVK, its 3PL spinoff
Not publicly stated by LVK
Not publicly stated
Handled by LVK
Red Stag
Per-order; focused on heavy and oversized items
Not publicly stated (intake is volume-based)
Not publicly stated
Returns available
Simpl Fulfillment Pricing starts at $7/order, flat-rate, and that number already includes picking, postage, and packaging — no hidden fees. Against ShipBob's model, that's the core structural difference: ShipBob bundles pick, pack, and ship into one fee, then bills receiving, storage, and add-ons separately. With Simpl, those costs are already folded into the per-order rate.
Simpl ships for brands from 50 to 5,000+ orders a month at the same per-order rate, with a $750/month account minimum billed pay-the-difference: you're only charged the gap if a month's order volume comes in under that. Orders received before 12pm CT ship the same day. Order accuracy runs at 99.99%, and when Simpl gets one wrong it covers the fix, return shipping and re-fulfillment, at its own cost. Every client gets a named account manager reachable by email with same-day responses, not a support queue. Returns come with a branded portal included for every client. For a Shopify brand that wants a predictable per-order number and a real person to email, that's the trade against ShipBob's scale.
ShipMonk ShipMonk is a strong pick for brands that want software depth. Its pricing is built around per-pick fees plus storage tiers, and it layers on tools for order management, inventory, and marketplace syncing. If you run a complex catalog across several channels, that tooling is the draw.
The trade against ShipBob is mixed. ShipMonk's per-pick structure can read cleaner than ShipBob's bundled fee at first, but the pick-based math means a multi-item order can cost more than a flat per-order fee, and storage tiers can move as your SKU count grows. Its monthly minimum is calculated from your projected order volume and pick fee, so it scales with size rather than acting as a flat cutoff. In this comparison, ShipMonk's main advantage over ShipBob is software depth: built-in order, inventory, and transportation management tooling, plus multi-channel syncing. What it doesn't necessarily fix is pricing predictability: you're still tracking picks and storage rather than a single per-order number. If your reason for leaving ShipBob is billing surprises, check a sample month of ShipMonk pricing against your real order mix before you move. Our ShipBob vs ShipMonk breakdown goes line by line.
ShipHero ShipHero today is warehouse management software, not a fulfillment network it runs itself. In August 2024, ShipHero spun its 3PL operation out into a separate company, LVK, which still runs on ShipHero's software. If you're comparing ShipBob alternatives on who actually picks, packs, and ships your orders, LVK is that business; ShipHero's own product is the WMS powering it and other 3PLs.
Against ShipBob, LVK is the closer comparison: a 3PL network with its own warehouses, so like ShipBob you'll want a full quote before comparing headline rates. Its differentiator is the software underneath: LVK's warehouses run on ShipHero's WMS, which is built to give real-time inventory and order visibility as part of the platform. If warehouse-level visibility matters more to you than a single point of contact, that's worth asking LVK about directly before you commit.
Red Stag Fulfillment Red Stag is the specialist of the group. It's built for heavy, bulky, and high-value orders, the kind of freight that breaks a standard 3PL's pick-and-pack flow. It backs that specialization with financial guarantees: $50 plus corrected shipping if an order goes out wrong, full wholesale reimbursement if inventory disappears, and $50 for every late shipment. If you ship oversized items like tools, equipment, or cases of product, that's aimed straight at you.
Red Stag isn't a like-for-like swap for most ShipBob use cases. It's built and priced around heavy and oversized freight, not standard small-parcel orders. Red Stag doesn't publish a minimum order volume, but its intake process is volume-based, so plan on a sales conversation rather than a self-serve quote. Match it to your SKU profile before you shortlist it: a strong fit if your catalog runs heavy or oversized, a mismatch if it doesn't.
Why switch from ShipBob Switching 3PLs means re-pointing your store, re-syncing inventory, and trusting a new warehouse with live orders. Here's what actually changes, so you can plan around it instead of guessing.
Integration re-setup is real, but for many brands it's less involved than a full rebuild. As a general pattern, if you're on Shopify, Shopify Plus, BigCommerce, WooCommerce, or Squarespace, connecting a new 3PL tends to be a store-app reconnect plus an inventory sync rather than a ground-up build, though the exact work scales with how many custom fields, apps, and order rules you have wired up. Marketplace channels like Amazon, Walmart, eBay, Etsy, and TikTok Shop tend to follow the same pattern, but confirm your own setup before you plan a timeline around it.
Migration timing is the part to plan, and it depends on more than any one 3PL controls: your own inventory transit, whatever reconciliation ShipBob requires on the way out, and your cutover date all factor in. On Simpl's side specifically, onboarding runs 5 to 7 days and receiving turnaround is 1 to 3 days once your inventory arrives — use those two figures to plan your half of the timeline rather than assuming a fixed overall migration window.
One cost to budget for when switching is the inventory move itself: the freight to relocate stock to the new warehouse. Get that number early, and plan your cutover around a slower sales week so the transition doesn't collide with a peak period.
See what your orders would cost If you're comparing options, the fastest way to know is a real number against your real order mix. See pricing or get a quote , and we'll walk through what your monthly total would actually look like.