ShipBob doesn't publish what it charges per order. Its fulfillment fee, which includes postage and a plan-set number of picks, comes from a custom quote. The add-ons are public in its help center: storage runs $5 per bin to $40 per pallet a month, and extra picks are $0.35 a unit. Get every line itemized in writing before you compare.
We're Simpl Fulfillment, a 3PL in Austin that competes with ShipBob, so treat this as a competitor's reading of ShipBob's own documents. For ShipBob's service record, see our ShipBob review. For the head-to-head decision, see Simpl vs ShipBob.
What ShipBob publishes, and what it doesn't
ShipBob's pricing page lists its fee categories (implementation, receiving, warehousing, and picking, packing, and shipping each order) with no amounts. Its affordable fulfillment page says "there is a minimum monthly spending requirement for fulfillment and minimum order volume requirements," without stating either number. The actual rates are in the help center. Three articles cover the US network: B2C pricing (dated June 23, 2026), additional services pricing (October 15, 2026), and B2B pricing (September 23, 2026).
Published with a dollar figure: storage, receiving, per-unit picks beyond your included picks, returns processing, B2B and FBA order fees, kitting, disposal, receiving penalties, and carrier surcharges. Not published: the per-package fulfillment fee (the B2C article says it is "based on your pricing plan"), how many picks that fee includes, the monthly spend minimum, the order-volume minimum, and the implementation fee. Those come only from the quote.
ShipBob's published US rates
Fee | ShipBob's published rate |
|---|---|
Fulfillment fee (per package) | Not published. "Based on your pricing plan." Covers order processing, shipping, and a plan-defined number of included picks; packaging may or may not be inside it, depending on the plan. |
Per-unit pick fee | $0.35 per unit beyond the picks your plan includes |
Storage | $5 per bin, $10 per shelf, $40 per pallet, per month, prorated daily. A $7.50 small shelf exists only in Yorkville, IL. |
Receiving (Warehouse Receiving Order) | $40 flat for the first 2 hours, then $45 per hour |
Returns processing | $1.70 per return order plus $0.90 per unit, charged when the return arrives at the warehouse. Return labels are priced at carrier rates. |
B2B orders | $12 per manual order or $7 per EDI order, plus $0.45 per unit or $0.90 per case picked |
Amazon FBA orders | Same fees as B2B, plus $0.35 per ASIN label ShipBob applies |
Paid requests and special projects | $45 per hour |
Credit card processing | 3% on top of every fee if you pay by card, use a USD dashboard, and ship only from US warehouses |
Shipping | Inside the per-package fulfillment fee at plan-based rates. ShipBob's fulfillment-cost page says shipping costs "reflect carrier discounts with no markups." |
Monthly spend minimum | Exists; amount not published |
Order-volume minimum | Exists; amount not published |
Implementation (onboarding) | Listed as a standard fee category; amount not published |
Where ShipBob's own pages disagree
ShipBob's fulfillment-cost page shows a rate table with receiving at $35 for the first two hours and $45 per hour after, storage at $40 per pallet, $10 per shelf, and $5 per bin, and $0.26 for each pick beyond the included set. The help center, which carries revision dates, says $40 flat for the first two hours (October 15, 2026) and $0.35 per extra unit (June 23, 2026). Storage matches on both. The marketing page labels its table "an example of a common 3PL pricing model," so it may simply be older. The help-center figure is the one attached to a date, and it is the higher one on both lines. If a ShipBob quote lands on the marketing-page numbers, get that in writing.
The fees ShipBob keeps for the sales call
Four numbers decide most of your bill, and none is published:
- The per-package fulfillment fee. This line bundles order processing, shipping, and your included picks, and it varies by plan, weight, and destination zone. Ask for the fee table by weight band, and ask whether standard packaging is inside it or billed separately.
- Included picks. The $0.35 per-unit fee starts after the picks your plan includes. A plan that includes one pick prices a three-item order very differently from one that includes three. Get the number.
- The monthly spend minimum. ShipBob confirms one exists and does not state it. The same page says "you can start with even just a thousand orders monthly," but doesn't say whether that is the order-volume minimum. Figures circulate on forums and review sites, but none of them appears in a ShipBob document, so we do not repeat them here. Ask what the minimum is, which fees count toward it, and whether it is billed pay-the-difference or as a flat charge.
- The order-volume minimum and the implementation fee. Both are referenced on ShipBob's own pages with no amount. Find out whether either is waived at your volume, and have the answer written into the quote rather than an email.
Growth plan, promotions, and carrier rates
Growth plan. ShipBob's pricing page and affordable fulfillment page don't mention a Growth plan or any small-account tier, and neither publishes a minimum threshold. If a rep offers a small-account plan, ask for its eligibility rules, its minimum, and how long the terms last, and get them in the quote.
Promotions. A fall 2025 ShipBob release page advertised 75% off onboarding and 50% off the first Inventory Placement Program inbound order. That offer is historical: the page doesn't say whether it still applies, so ask whether any onboarding discount is available now.
Carrier rates. ShipBob doesn't publish a per-label rate table. Shipping sits inside the fulfillment fee, so ask for that fee by package weight, dimensions, destination zone, and service level. Bulky, light boxes can bill on dimensional weight; our dimensional weight calculator shows the billable weight before you ask. ShipBob's published surcharges are listed further down, and our guide to shipping surcharges explains how they work.
Monthly cost at 150, 400, and 1,000 orders
ShipBob's total depends on your quote, so this table marks which lines are published and which need one. It doesn't build a ShipBob total from the published add-ons.
Line | 150 orders/mo | 400 orders/mo | 1,000 orders/mo |
|---|---|---|---|
ShipBob fulfillment fee (includes postage and plan-set picks) | Quote needed | Quote needed | Quote needed |
ShipBob extra picks | $0.35 per unit beyond included picks | Same rate | Same rate |
ShipBob storage | $5 per bin, $10 per shelf, $40 per pallet per month, prorated daily; count depends on your inventory | Same rates | Same rates |
ShipBob receiving and returns | $40 for the first 2 hours of each receiving order, then $45 per hour; returns $1.70 per order plus $0.90 per unit | Same rates | Same rates |
ShipBob implementation fee and monthly minimum | Quote needed | Quote needed | Quote needed |
The fulfillment fee decides whether ShipBob is cheap or expensive for you, and it is the one number ShipBob does not print. Price the same basket at every 3PL you talk to, with shipping inside the number, or the comparison tells you nothing.
Quote checklist
Send every 3PL the same order profile and ask each one to itemize the answer:
- Monthly order count, and how it swings in your busiest month
- Units per order, package dimensions, and weight
- Where your orders ship to (your destination mix)
- How many picks the base fee includes, and the rate after that
- How many bins, shelves, or pallets your inventory needs
- How often you send inbound shipments, and how receiving is billed
- Monthly returns, and the per-order and per-unit return fees
- Branded boxes or inserts, and whether storing them costs extra
- The account minimum, what counts toward it, and any implementation fee
- Surcharges and fuel: which apply, and whether they are passed through or marked up
- Term, exit notice, and how much notice you get before prices change. ShipBob's terms allow it to change fees other than carrier surcharges on 30 days' written notice.
Fees that catch people off guard
All of these are published in the help-center articles linked above, and none of them appears in the fee tables most comparison posts repeat.
- Receiving penalties. A shipment that arrives without a Warehouse Receiving Order costs $25 for each day after a 24-hour window. Quantity overages, lot-number mismatches, barcode problems, and "other" issues run $10 per day after 72 hours. Return-to-sender holds are $5 per day after 96 hours. (From the additional services pricing article.)
- Disposal. Getting rid of dead inventory costs $12 per disposal order plus $0.45 per unit picked, plus a disposal charge equal to the lower of $1.55 per item or $4 per bin, $32 per shelf, or $300 per pallet.
- Kitting. $25 for training and workstation setup on each kitting order, then per-action fees from $0.02 to $0.56 per unit: picking a SKU is $0.07, building a box is $0.56, placing an item in it is $0.10. De-kitting is $0.40 per touch.
- EDI and serial numbers. $50 per month per active EDI connection, and $1.50 per serial number scanned. (From the B2B pricing article.)
- Insurance. ShipBob's courtesy coverage stops at $100 per parcel and $500 per freight shipment. Above that, insurance is 1.875% of the declared value per order.
- Rush B2B orders. A 48-hour turnaround request carries a $330 minimum, calculated as a $150 base plus four hours of labor at $45, even when the work takes less than four hours.
- Carrier surcharges billed by ShipBob. A flat $6.50 per order to FedEx delivery-area-surcharge ZIP codes, $2.83 per residential order over 1 pound on carriers other than USPS, and carrier cost plus a 15% administrative fee on address corrections. Oversize parcels trigger additional-handling fees of $46.50 to $58.75 by zone and large-package fees of $255 to $331. An outsourced fuel surcharge also applies, either as a fixed fee or as a variable fee tied to diesel prices, depending on your plan.
- Credit card processing. Every figure above rises 3% if you pay by card, use a USD dashboard, and ship only from US warehouses. ShipBob names direct debit and wire as the ways around it.
Who ShipBob's pricing fits, and when to look elsewhere
- ShipBob may fit if you want inventory split across regions or countries. ShipBob says it ships from 50+ global locations and splits inventory between them to cut shipping costs. Whether that pays off depends on inputs this page doesn't model: how many locations you'd use, how inventory splits across them, how often orders ship in more than one box, and per-location storage.
- Consider another approach if you ship well under 100 orders a month. At that volume a 3PL minimum can be most of the bill, and packing orders yourself a while longer may make more sense.
Should you switch from ShipBob, and what does Simpl charge?
Get a comparison quote if you ship enough each month to sit comfortably past a 3PL minimum and want one all-in per-order number instead of a quoted fulfillment fee plus add-ons. The accounts with the most to learn from that comparison, judging by ShipBob's own fee pages, are the ones where the unpublished lines carry the bill:
- You can't get the fulfillment fee, the monthly minimum or the implementation fee in writing.
- Your orders carry several units, so per-unit picks beyond your plan's included count add up.
- You send inbound shipments often, so hourly receiving adds up.
- You ship from one part of the country, and a split network isn't saving you much.
None of that makes ShipBob overpriced. It means the lines ShipBob doesn't print decide your bill, so price the same basket at another 3PL before you decide.
Two cases where moving doesn't pay, or doesn't fit us. If you ship well under roughly 90 to 100 light orders a month on standard shipping, a 3PL minimum would be a large share of your bill, and keeping self-fulfillment for now is the honest suggestion. If you need inventory split across regions or countries, ShipBob's multi-location network is its stated advantage and the reason to stay; Simpl ships every order from one warehouse in Austin, TX.
At Simpl, fulfillment starts at $7/order, all-in: that rate includes postage, packaging, packing, and up to 3 picks. Your weights and shipping services set your actual rate; $7 is where it starts, not what every order costs. Standard ecommerce fulfillment accounts have a $750 monthly minimum, billed pay-the-difference: if a month's order billing comes in under $750, we bill the shortfall so order billing reaches $750. Storage is billed separately by storage type. Onboarding takes 5 to 7 days; how fast you can switch your 3PL to Simpl covers the steps and what sets the timeline.
How ShipBob compares on price
Simpl prices the other way around. Fulfillment starts at $7/order, and that per-order rate includes up to 3 picks, packing, packaging, and postage via UPS, USPS, or FedEx. Carrier surcharges, when they apply, are billed per our terms. We charge no onboarding fee. Receiving is free, though our terms charge $45 per person-hour for inbound shipments that don't meet our receiving requirements. Storage is billed separately by storage type, as listed on our pricing page. Standard ecommerce fulfillment accounts have a $750 monthly minimum, billed pay-the-difference, as explained above. Our standard agreement runs a 3-month term that renews automatically, with 60 days' notice to exit. Every order ships from our one warehouse in Austin, TX, with UPS, USPS, or FedEx; we don't use regional consolidators or crowdsourced last-mile networks.
ShipBob | Simpl Fulfillment | |
|---|---|---|
Pricing model | Custom quote; per-package fulfillment fee set by plan | Flat rate per order, starting at $7/order |
Onboarding fee | Implementation is a listed fee category; amount not published | None |
Monthly minimum | Exists; amount not published | $750/month, billed pay-the-difference |
Picks | Plan-defined picks included, then $0.35 per unit | Up to 3 picks included in the per-order rate |
Receiving | $40 flat for the first 2 hours, then $45 per hour | Free; our terms charge $45 per person-hour for non-compliant inbound shipments |
Shipping | Inside the fulfillment fee at plan-based carrier rates; ShipBob states no markup | Postage via UPS, USPS, or FedEx included in the per-order rate; carrier surcharges, when they apply, are billed per our terms |
Storage | $5 bin, $10 shelf, $40 pallet per month, prorated daily | $3 small bin, $5 large bin, $15 shelf, $40 pallet per month |
Returns | $1.70 per return order plus $0.90 per unit | Billed per your rate card |
Term | Its terms let you end the agreement at any time if no balance is due; ask whether your quote adds a term | 3-month term that renews automatically; 60 days' notice to exit |
Same-day shipping | Same day for orders imported before the shipping fulfillment center's cutoff, which ranges from noon to 6pm local time depending on the location | 98.8% of orders received by 12pm CT on a business day ship the same day. Measured September 21 to October 23, 2026. See how we measure it. |
If you're weighing the two side by side, the Simpl vs ShipBob comparison covers more than price. For ShipBob's support record and where it works well, read our ShipBob review.
Sources
- ShipBob US fulfillment center B2C pricing (help center)
- ShipBob US fulfillment center additional services pricing (help center)
- ShipBob US fulfillment center B2B pricing (help center)
- ShipBob pricing page
- ShipBob affordable fulfillment services page
- ShipBob fulfillment costs page
- ShipBob fall 2025 release page
- ShipBob terms of service
- ShipBob locations page
Looking for an eCommerce fulfillment partner?
Let's Chat
FAQs
How much does ShipBob cost?
ShipBob does not publish its per-order fulfillment fee, which includes shipping and a plan-set number of picks; its B2C pricing article says it is "based on your pricing plan." The same article publishes $0.35 per extra unit picked and returns at $1.70 per order plus $0.90 per unit. Its additional services article lists storage at $5 per bin, $10 per shelf, and $40 per pallet a month, and receiving at $40 for the first 2 hours, then $45 per hour. To get a monthly number, multiply your quoted fulfillment fee by your order count, then add those published lines for your inventory and returns.
What fees should I ask ShipBob about?
Ask for the numbers ShipBob does not publish: the fulfillment fee by weight band, how many picks it includes, whether packaging is inside it, the implementation fee, and the monthly spend and order-volume minimums. ShipBob's pricing and affordable fulfillment pages mention these without amounts. Also ask whether your plan carries a fixed or variable fuel surcharge, which ShipBob's additional services article says depends on the plan. Its terms let it change fees other than carrier surcharges on 30 days' written notice, so ask how repricing works too.
Does ShipBob publish a minimum?
No. ShipBob's affordable fulfillment page says "there is a minimum monthly spending requirement for fulfillment and minimum order volume requirements" but does not state either amount. The same page says "you can start with even just a thousand orders monthly" without saying whether that is the minimum. Figures on forums and review sites don't appear in any ShipBob document, so treat them as unverified. Ask for both minimums, which fees count toward the spend minimum, and whether it is billed pay-the-difference, and get the answer in the quote.
Is there a current ShipBob Growth plan or promotion?
ShipBob's pricing and affordable fulfillment pages don't mention a Growth plan or a small-account tier, so ask a rep to confirm any small-account plan, its eligibility, and its minimum in writing. A fall 2025 ShipBob release page advertised 75% off onboarding and 50% off the first Inventory Placement Program inbound order. Treat that as a historical offer: the page doesn't say whether it still applies.
How do ShipBob carrier rates work?
ShipBob does not publish a per-label rate table. Shipping is part of the per-package fulfillment fee set by your plan, as its B2C pricing article describes, so ask for that fee by package weight, dimensions, destination zone, and service level. Surcharges are billed on top, per its additional services article: $2.83 per residential order over 1 pound on carriers other than USPS, a flat $6.50 per order to FedEx delivery-area ZIP codes, and carrier cost plus 15% on address corrections. ShipBob's fulfillment-cost page says its shipping costs "reflect carrier discounts with no markups."
How do I compare 3PL quotes?
Send every 3PL the same order profile: monthly orders, units per order, package size and weight, destination mix, storage needs, receiving frequency, returns, and packaging. Ask each one to itemize the fulfillment fee with shipping inside it, plus storage, receiving, returns, surcharges, the minimum, and the contract terms. A quote that leaves out postage isn't comparable to one that includes it. Simpl starts at $7/order with postage, packaging, packing, and up to 3 picks included; carrier surcharges, when they apply, are billed per our terms.
When does a 3PL minimum make sense?
When your regular order volume covers it most months. Simpl's minimum is $750 a month, billed pay-the-difference, which is roughly 90 to 100 orders depending on weight and service, because our per-order rate includes postage, packaging, packing, and up to 3 picks. Many 3PLs apply their minimum to fulfillment fees only, with postage outside it, so their stated minimums look lower. If you are well below that volume, keeping fulfillment in-house for now may make more sense.
